Wood types

Wood is divided into three groups:

Coniferous wood– Coniferous woods are soft woods. The best-known ones are yew, spruce, pine, larch, fir and Swiss pine.

Deciduous wood– Deciduous woods are hard woods. The best-known ones are maple, birch, pear, oak, alder, ash, cherry, lime, walnut, poplar and common beech.

Tropical wood– Tropical woods, such as balsa, ebony, mahogany, rosewood and teak, are highly resistant to environmental influences and are, above all, renowned for their particularly decorative wood structure and colouring. This is why veneers made of tropical wood are predominantly used for manufacturing furniture.

Add to wish list
Added to wish list
Buy now
Reset filter
Show filter
Hide filter
Thank you very much for your rating
Thank you very much for your rating
Show other projects
Hide other projects
Hide article variants
Show article variants
Close application tip
Open application tip
Read experience report
Close experience report
Hide detailed material list
Show detailed material list
Comparison list
Show more recommendations
Hide further recommendations